Proposed Anglo-Welsh League

The proposed Anglo-Welsh League for the 1976-77 season had twenty interested clubs. However, Cardiff would not have entered until the following season, due to the clash with their centenary.

England – Bath, Bedford, Blackheath, Bristol, Coventry, Gloucester, Harlequins, Leicester, London Welsh, Moseley, Northampton, Richmond and Rosslyn Park.

Wales – Aberavon, Bridgend, Cardiff, Llanelli, Neath, Newport and Swansea.

The Sunday Telegraph Merit Tables/Pennants started in the 1966-67 season. A composite table showing the records of the twenty clubs over the ten-year period up to the 1975-76 season, compiled from these merit tables/pennants, showed the following win-draw-loss percentages;

1. Cardiff 65.40%

2. Coventry 64.04%

3. Llanelli 63.07%

4. Moseley 60.85%

5. London Welsh 60.81%

6. Newport 56.70%

7. Bridgend 55.1%

8. Bedford 54.40%

9. Gloucester 53.30%

Below Gloucester in descending order were;

Bristol, Neath, Leicester, Aberavon, Northampton, Rosslyn Park, Swansea, Harlequins, Richmond, Bath and Blackheath.







No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.